Two researchers, one tool question: cross-posting
Both runs land on Postiz ($29, API + MCP, all networks), X as home with Bluesky, Threads and Mastodon mirrored, LinkedIn rewritten weekly, Reddit by hand, no video for 90 days. 19 agreements, 6 disagreements, three small errors in the agent's run caught. Recommendation held until the audience votes.
Two researchers, one tool question
Brief 8, September 5, 2026. Which tool should an AI agent use to cross-post a build-in-public founder's story to every network, and is video worth it. The agent answered in three documents (tools, video and payoff, synthesis); weebo answered in four (tools, video, payoff, synthesis). This comparison reads all seven and checks the numbers both quote against the primary pages.
Headline
Both researchers pick Postiz as the publisher and both say no video yet; that much is settled. They split on hosting (the agent says pay $29 for cloud, weebo says self-host on usectl), on whether Bluesky and Threads get the identical X text or an adapted one, and on whether LinkedIn starts now or in month two. The agent's evidence is stronger on video and on what actually reaches customers (measured studies and named small founders); weebo's is stronger on tool pricing and X billing (primary help-center pages, and it caught Ayrshare's BYO-keys change the agent missed). Two of the agent's numbers fail a check: Metricool's X add-on is $10, not $5, and the "no X surcharges" line the agent attributes to the Postiz pricing page is not on that page today. Merged answer: Postiz cloud Standard at $29, five text channels, Reddit by hand, one weekly screen recording tested from month three, all of it held until the audience vote.
Where they agree
Where they disagree
1. Postiz cloud or self-hosted. The agent ranks Postiz cloud first ($29 Standard, $39 Team) because the vendor already holds the TikTok, YouTube and Meta app approvals and bundles X; self-hosting is the escape hatch (https://postiz.com/pricing, https://developers.tiktok.com/docs/en/content-posting-api-reference-direct-post). Weebo ranks Postiz self-hosted on usectl first because the brief says self-hosting is easy and the software is free (https://github.com/gitroomhq/postiz-app). Better supported: the agent, for the first 90 days. Weebo's own tools run lists the same cost ("self-host means you maintain Temporal/Postgres/Redis and platform OAuth apps", https://docs.postiz.com/public-api/introduction) but does not weigh it; the agent traces it to the TikTok audit rule and to X's own developer billing (https://docs.x.com/x-api/getting-started/pricing.md), and for five text channels the $29 buys back six app registrations. Self-host becomes right when channel count or cost outgrows the cloud tiers.
2. Identical mirror or adapted post on Bluesky and Threads. The agent says mirror every X post to Bluesky and Threads verbatim at zero cost, citing Martin Fowler's measured test of 24 identical posts across X, LinkedIn, Bluesky and Mastodon (https://www.martinfowler.com/articles/2025-social-traffic.html) and Clemente's same-cadence X-versus-Bluesky week (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/bluesky-vs-x-my-7-day-experiment-eef3bc5fba). Weebo says never post the identical caption, stagger by 24 hours and adapt per network (https://monolit.sh/blog/social-media-cross-posting-strategy-what-to-post-where-2026, https://www.teract.ai/resources/linkedin-vs-twitter-b2b-2026). Better supported: the agent for the three short-text networks. Weebo's anti-identical sources are vendor blogs, its penalty evidence is about watermarked video on Instagram and TikTok (https://syncstudio.ai/blog/cross-post-business-videos-2026), and weebo itself records the counter-evidence that raw cross-posting beat native posting on reach in Socialync's test (https://www.socialync.io/blog/cross-posting-vs-native-posting-2025). Both agree LinkedIn is the exception and gets a rewrite.
3. When LinkedIn starts. The agent's payoff run puts LinkedIn in month two, one native post a week (30-45 minutes); weebo puts it in phase one as "the customer channel" at 3-5 posts a week (https://postiv.ai/blog/vibe-coding-marketing, https://www.teract.ai/resources/linkedin-vs-twitter-b2b-2026). Better supported: neither is strong. Weebo's LinkedIn-converts claims come from two vendors (Postiv, Teract) and an illustrative unnamed table weebo itself flags as not empirical (https://postiv.ai/blog/saas-growth-hacking); the agent's caution rests on Fowler (LinkedIn top for engagement but 3.3% of traffic) and one founder whose LinkedIn produced zero signups (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/how-i-got-my-first-60-customers-from-reddit-without-spending-a-dime-on-ads-3d19b2c47c). Since one weekly post costs under an hour, timing is not worth arguing; the agent's cadence (one a week) is the better-evidenced volume for a 467-follower account.
4. Mastodon. The agent's tools run includes Mastodon in the starting five (it fits Postiz Standard and costs nothing); weebo leaves it out. Weebo's exclusion is the better-supported position on payoff (Fowler measured Mastodon "far lower", https://www.martinfowler.com/articles/2025-social-traffic.html, and weebo found no 2026 indie evidence either), but the agent is right that if a Standard channel slot is free it is a free mirror. Reddit should not take a Postiz slot in either plan, since both say Reddit is done by hand.
5. Video test shape. Agent: one 30-60 second screen recording per week, founder records or narrates, Shorts then TikTok, 1.5-3 hours, kill after 8 weeks at zero signups (https://www.socialinsider.io/blog/tiktok-vs-reels-vs-shorts/). Weebo: one 10-15 minute Loom per week cut into 2-4 Shorts through OpusClip Starter ($15) or Descript Hobbyist ($16), about 2 hours, kill if it steals X posts (https://www.descript.com/pricing, https://clipflow.to/for/founders). These are compatible; the agent's kill rule is measurable and weebo's is not, so the merged answer takes the agent's rule and allows weebo's clipping tool.
6. Typefully. Weebo's payoff run drafted Typefully as the number one tool; weebo's synthesis then demoted it to a drafting companion, matching the agent (https://typefully.com/ai-agents). Resolved inside weebo's own run; no live disagreement.
Agent-only findings
- The April 2026 X price change in detail: announced April 16, effective April 20; plain post rose from $0.01 to $0.015, URL post from $0.01 to $0.20, a 1,900% increase; liking, following and quote-posting removed from self-serve tiers; Techmeme stripped links from its automated posts in response (https://techcrunch.com/2026/04/22/x-makes-it-more-expensive-to-post-links-through-its-api/, https://opentweet.io/blog/x-api-link-post-fee). The agent also notes TechCrunch's $0.105 plain-post figure is a typo.
- Shorts reach is follower-independent: accounts under 5K followers average 15,160 views per Short against 350 on TikTok and 625 on Reels, from Socialinsider's 69M-video study; TikTok has the best engagement rate (2.60% against 0.30%) but the worst small-account reach (https://www.socialinsider.io/blog/tiktok-vs-reels-vs-shorts/).
- The cleanest small-founder video case: 100+ screen demos, 300K views, about 100 low-quality signups, 3-5 hours a week (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/how-we-reached-300k-views-across-tiktok-reels-shorts-for-our-ai-startup-9f00d475df); and a May 2026 iOS founder at 250 views a video and 11 downloads (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/day-10-11-downloads-2-000-tiktok-views-and-the-mistake-that-killed-my-us-conversions-1dcfbbeff5).
- Kapwing's audit of 10,742 TikToks: 59% of a new account's first 500 videos were AI slop, 21% on Shorts; TikTok added a feed control to reduce AI content (https://www.kapwing.com/resources/the-tiktok-ai-slop-report/). YouTube terminated 16 slop channels (35M subscribers, 4.7B views) in June 2026 and tuned recommendations toward on-camera hosts (https://thenextweb.com/news/youtube-ai-slop-crackdown-faceless-creators-collateral-damage).
- Bluesky beats X per follower in every same-conditions test found (Clemente, Fowler; Guardian Australia and Boston Globe for publishers, https://www.indiehackers.com/post/whats-new-bluesky-might-be-your-next-website-traffic-goldmine-162e3f33cc).
- A Reddit founder who posted daily in r/SaaS for 90 days got zero customers, then two after moving to buyer threads (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/i-posted-daily-on-reddit-for-3-months-zero-customers-heres-what-i-missed-9b3aece6c0).
- ClawHub's X skills: two use the official API (you pay X), two use browser cookies to dodge fees and risk the account (https://clawskills.sh/openclaw/integrations/x). Postiz's ClawHub skill has 10.1K downloads.
- Postiz create-post rate limit: 90 requests an hour self-hosted (adjustable), 100 on cloud; the Postiz MCP docs page 404s (https://docs.postiz.com/public-api/mcp).
- YouTube's upload quota is now a separate bucket of up to 100 uploads a day (https://developers.google.com/youtube/v3/determine_quota_cost).
- Agent-native newcomers Blotato ($29, hosted MCP), Socialync and PostFast surveyed, all on vendor evidence only.
Weebo-only findings
- Ayrshare requires bring-your-own X OAuth1 keys on every X request since March 31, 2026, with credits bought in X's developer console (https://ayrshare-docs.mintlify.dev/docs/dashboard/connect-social-accounts/x-twitter-byo-keys). The agent lists Ayrshare as "no surcharge", which is true but misses that you now pay X yourself.
- Metricool's X add-on is $10 per X account per month, or $120 a year, from Metricool's own help center; MCP is on any plan but the REST API needs Advanced (about $53) (https://help.metricool.com/x-twitter-access-in-metricool-2bt66.md, https://help.metricool.com/plans-add-ons-and-api-access-explained-xux1u.md).
- Publer prices: Professional $5 per account, Business $10 per account, API only on Business (https://publer.com/help/en/article/professional-vs-business-vs-enterprise-plans-1sge3f7/).
- Postiz full tier list (Pro $49 for 30 channels, Ultimate $99 for 100), Standard's 400-post cap, GitHub at about 35K stars, and an agent CLI (https://postiz.com/, https://github.com/gitroomhq/postiz-app).
- Buffer's API takes media by public URL only, and its analytics API is marked experimental (https://support.buffer.com/en-us/articles/what-is-buffers-api-GtIYIQilz5).
- Mixpost has a documented MCP server and a pay-as-you-go X guide (https://mixpost.app/mcp, https://docs.mixpost.app/services/social/x/).
- Zernio's full ladder: accounts 11-100 at $3, 101+ at $1; MCP claims 280+ tools (https://zernio.com/pricing, https://zernio.com/social-media-api).
- Official X card includes summoned posts at $0.010 and user reads at $0.010; pay-per-use reads capped at 3M a month (https://docs.x.com/x-api/getting-started/pricing.md).
- Small-base video wins with revenue exist but are consumer apps: Natural Write, $100K in 90 days off 9M TikTok views (vendor writeup, https://postiz.com/blog/tiktok-marketing-strategy-100k-90-days); Flowfy, 100K downloads and 2-5M views a month from slideshows (https://tap-and-swipe.com/episodes/alberto-tiktok-slideshows); VidMachine's automated blog-to-shorts dogfood, 48K views and 11 signups in 30 days (https://dev.to/jackbuilds/i-replaced-my-blog-with-ai-shorts-for-30-days-heres-what-actually-happened-3j3k).
- A format taxonomy of eight short-video formats with fit ratings, and hours per finished short by method (talking head 30-90 min, screen plus VO 40-75 min, Loom to AI clips about 20-30 min amortized) (https://monolit.sh/blog/youtube-vs-tiktok-for-founders-2026-pros-cons-which-platform-focus).
- YouTube's May 2026 auto-labels for photorealistic AI do not affect ranking per YouTube's blog; the "60-80% reach death" press claim is uncorroborated (https://blog.youtube/news-and-events/improving-ai-labels-viewers-creators/, https://signalreads.com/articles/youtube-just-quietly-exposed-every-ai-creator-this/).
- A wider video-tool price table: Descript $16/$24/$50, HeyGen $29/$49/$149 with API about $1 a minute, Captions Max $24.99, Munch $49, Arcads with no public pricing (https://www.descript.com/pricing, https://www.heygen.com/pricing).
- A directory-launch ledger separating views from retained signups: Product Hunt 2,400 visitors and 19% 30-day retention against SaaSHub 13.4% signup rate and 70% retention (https://xsquareseo.com/saas-link-building/betalist-saashub-uneed-product-hunt-which-directories-actually-sent-signups-not-just-backlinks/).
- Socialync's 90-day test of ten creators (cross-posting 2.1M reach against 980K native, 3 against 18 hours a week), vendor-run (https://www.socialync.io/blog/cross-posting-vs-native-posting-2025).
- A day-by-day weekly grid and UTM tagging rule (utm_source per network) (https://microposter.so/blog/content-repurposing).
- A second audience question, written in the founder's lowercase X voice.
Quality notes
Numbers both quote, checked against the primary page on September 5, 2026.
| Number | Agent | Weebo | Check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postiz Standard / Team | $29 for 5 channels / $39 for 10 | same, plus Pro $49 and Ultimate $99 | Both correct (https://postiz.com/pricing) |
| Postiz X surcharge | "no X surcharges" on the pricing page, tagged data | not stated on the page, unconfirmed | Weebo is right: the pricing page today names X as a supported platform but carries no surcharge statement either way. The agent's data tag is an error; treat X billing on Postiz cloud as bundled-until-stated-otherwise |
| Tools that dropped X | Hypefury (FAQ, verified), Later (Blotato) | same two | Both correct; Hypefury FAQ is primary, Later is secondary in both (https://hypefury.com/features-pricing/) |
| X plain post / URL post | $0.015 / $0.20 | $0.015 / $0.200 | Both correct (https://docs.x.com/x-api/getting-started/pricing.md) |
| X reads | owned $0.001, third-party $0.005, delete $0.01 | post read $0.005, user read $0.010 | Both correct; the agent's owned-reads figure is confirmed on the same card |
| Metricool X add-on | $5 (socialk.it), noting Blotato says $10 | $10 (Metricool help center) | Weebo is right; $10 per account per month, $120 a year. The agent's $5 is wrong |
| Zernio, 9 accounts | about $42 | about $42; 10 accounts $48 | Arithmetic correct (2 free + 7 x $6). Both miss that Zernio has no Mastodon, so nine targets is eight accounts, $36 |
| Buffer channel math | 9 x $6 = $54 | 8 x $6 = $48 | Weebo's is the usable figure since Buffer has no Reddit; agent's 9-channel total cannot be bought |
| Typefully price | $99 a year, Blotato only | about $12.50 to $15 a month, third-party | Neither verified (pricing page did not render for either); flag as open |
| Revid.ai price | Starter $29, Pro $59, Business $149 (fluxnote) | Hobby about $39, Elite $89, Ultra $199 (toolchase) | Conflict, both third-party, both flag drift; do not quote either without checking revid.ai |
| OpusClip | free 60 min, $15, $29 | same, with minute caps | Agree, same source |
| YouTube inauthentic-content rule | July 15, 2025 | July 15, 2025 | Agree (https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1311392) |
| Shorts / TikTok study figures | Socialinsider 69M videos, Kapwing 10,742 TikToks, YouTube 16 channels / 4.7B views | none of these; weebo cites Natural Write, Flowfy, VidMachine instead | No shared study to cross-check. The agent's figures come from named, dated studies; weebo's cases are vendor or founder self-reports and weebo labels them single-source |
Other errors and weak spots:
- The agent's synthesis says Mixpost "has no MCP"; the agent's own tools run says the opposite ("MCP server integration listed on pricing page"), and weebo cites the MCP page (https://mixpost.app/mcp). The synthesis is wrong.
- The agent's TechCrunch typo call ($0.105) is consistent with the official card; fine.
- Weebo's payoff run leans on vendor blogs (Postiv, Teract, JustNeeda, Monolit, Socialync) for its LinkedIn-first and never-identical rules and says so; its illustrative Postiv table should not be quoted as data.
- Weebo's tools run says "Postiz self-hosted is the only tool that hits all nine" while its own table shows cloud Postiz has the same coverage; the "only" applies to Postiz, not to self-hosting.
- Neither run read the X developer announcement directly (robots-blocked for the agent; weebo used the pricing.md card, which is the better primary source).
- Both runs quote the 467-follower context; only the agent uses it in the argument (Shorts reach is follower-independent, so the base is not the constraint).
Merged answer
A recommendation, not a decision; it waits on the audience vote.
The tool. Postiz cloud, Standard plan, $29 a month, 5 channels, REST API plus the hosted MCP endpoint the agent connects to with one URL (https://postiz.com/pricing, https://postiz.com/mcp). Reasons: covers all nine targets, MCP and API on every plan, the vendor holds the TikTok and YouTube approvals, open-source AGPL escape hatch to self-host on usectl later (https://github.com/gitroomhq/postiz-app). Fallbacks: Zernio if Mastodon is dropped and transparent X billing is preferred (https://zernio.com/pricing); Buffer Free for a zero-cost trial of MCP-driven posting (https://buffer.com/mcp). Typefully stays optional as an X drafting companion. Self-host Postiz when either the channel count passes 10 or the founder wants to own the X app; budget about $5 a month of direct X fees at 60 posts with 20 links (https://docs.x.com/x-api/getting-started/pricing.md).
Starting networks. Five Postiz channels: X (home), Bluesky, Threads and Mastodon as verbatim mirrors, LinkedIn as one native rewrite a week. Reddit by hand, no scheduler, 3-5 comments a week in threads where buyers describe the problem (https://www.indiehackers.com/post/how-i-got-my-first-60-customers-from-reddit-without-spending-a-dime-on-ads-3d19b2c47c). YouTube, TikTok and Instagram not connected until there is a video pipeline. Every link carries utm_source per network, and signups get a "how did you hear" field, so the 90-day review has numbers (https://microposter.so/blog/content-repurposing).
The video decision. No video for the first 90 days. From month three, if the vote says video, one 30-60 second real screen recording a week of a real changelog item, founder voice, agent-written script, posted to Shorts first (best small-account reach: 15,160 average views under 5K followers, https://www.socialinsider.io/blog/tiktok-vs-reels-vs-shorts/) then TikTok; OpusClip Starter or Descript Hobbyist allowed if the founder prefers recording one Loom and clipping it (https://www.eesel.ai/blog/opusclip-pricing, https://www.descript.com/pricing). No stock-footage-plus-TTS video, ever, for this brand (https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1311392, https://www.kapwing.com/resources/the-tiktok-ai-slop-report/). Kill the test after 8 weeks at zero signups per video.
Weekly cadence. X 5-10 posts including replies; Bluesky, Threads, Mastodon mirrored automatically (0-15 minutes a week); LinkedIn one native post (30-45 minutes); Reddit 1-2 hours; video, once running, 1.5-3 hours. Text stack about 2-3 hours a week of founder time, all of it Reddit and LinkedIn; the agent drives the rest. Full stack with video 3.5-6 hours.
Monthly cost. $29 (Postiz Standard) for the text stack; $44-45 with a clipping tool during the video test; $0 in direct X fees while on cloud. Self-host path for comparison: $0 software, $5-15 cluster, about $5 X fees, plus six developer-app approvals.
The line to ask the audience. "Would you rather watch a 45-second screen recording of this week's change, or keep reading it as text; and when you last tried a new infra tool, what made you click signup: an X thread, a LinkedIn post, a Reddit comment, or something else?"
Counts
| Metric | Agent | Weebo |
|---|---|---|
| Documents | 3 (tools, video and payoff, synthesis) | 4 (tools, video, payoff, synthesis) |
| Claims by the run's own count | tools 96 (58 data, 22 single, 16 opinion); video and payoff 32 (14 data, 11 single, 7 opinion); total 128 | tools: 12 tools, 9 agent-drivable, 1 hits all nine; video: 7 numeric cases, 10 priced tools; payoff: 8 multi-network cases, 5 with customer numbers; no per-claim tally given |
| Sources used by the run's own count | 24 + 24 = 48 (81 checked) | tools not stated; video 42; payoff 28 |
| Distinct URLs extracted from the files | 61 | 114 |
| URL overlap (normalized) | 10 shared: Postiz docs, Hypefury pricing, Mixpost pricing, Ayrshare pricing, Zernio pricing, Typefully MCP article, Blotato X schedulers, OpusClip pricing, two YouTube help pages | same 10 |
| Domain overlap | 17 domains shared | same |
| Agreements listed | 19 | 19 |
| Disagreements | 6, of which 1 resolved inside weebo's own run (Typefully); 5 live | same |
| Errors flagged | 3 (Metricool $5; Postiz "no X surcharges" tagged data; synthesis says Mixpost has no MCP) | 1 wording ("only self-hosted Postiz" hits nine) plus vendor-source reliance in payoff |